Diamond terminology you must know!

You might have read about the 4Cs of diamonds on our ‘All about diamonds’ page- cut, colour, clarity and carat weight, which also introduces you to Henri, our diamond expert.

We know that some people want to know as much as they can before commissioning a bespoke piece of jewellery, and that’s understandable as it’s a serious investment. So here are a few other specialist terms about the anatomy of a diamond that you might want to be aware of.


Crown – the top part of the diamond which is made up of the table (see below) and a series of shaped facets. The angle of the crown is critical to the way the diamond breaks up light, adding to its sparkle and to what experts call its fire (see below).

Table – the largest facet on the diamond, this is the flat surface on the top. On a brilliant cut diamond (a round one) it will be an octagon shape and is important because it is the surface which lets in the most light, and more light means more sparkle!

Girdle – the outer edge of the diamond which gives it its shape. This part of the stone can be different thicknesses, ideally the thinner the better!

Pavilion – the lower part of the diamond which falls below the girdle, it acts as a mirror to reflect the light that enters through the table and crown.

Fire – also known as dispersion, this is the ability of a diamond to bend (refract) light into different colours when you tilt it. It is different to the colour of a diamond, which is consistent from whatever angle you look at it.

Inclusion – sometimes referred to as a birthmark, these are tiny flaws within a diamond or other stone. Most inclusions were formed when the gemstone was first formed in the earth and are assessed as part of the clarity rating of a stone.

Brilliant Cut Diamond    Princess Cut Diamond    Marquise Cut Diamond


What’s considered good or bad about each of these parts of a diamond depends on the shape and size of the stone. All diamonds we supply, have been graded by Henri our diamond supplier. Some of our larger stones, come with a certificate giving the specifics of each stone. The three most important certificates you can receive with your diamond are GIA, HRD and IGI. There are other diamond certificates available, but the three mentioned are more universally recognised.  If you’d like, we’ll discuss each potential stone for your jewellery in detail as part of the design process.



0% Finance Offer

We can now offer 0% finance option

Read more about this offer

View Our Pricing Guide



Book your jewellery design consultation today…

Iain Henderson Designs Logo

Iain Henderson Designs
Contact our Team today to book, more info or a chat about jewellery
01274 551 224 info@iainhenderson.co.uk

It's more than business - it's personal Making the most of your assets

Womens Wedding RingsRemodellingPropose with a DiamondEngagement RingsCAD Jewellery Design ServiceMens Wedding Rings

Share this page!

You currently have JavaScript disabled. This site requires JavaScript to be enabled. Some functions of the site may not be usable or the site may not look correct until you enable JavaScript. You can enable JavaScript by following this tutorial. Once JavaScript is enabled, this message will be removed.